A Note To Writers: It’s Ok

Hello again!

Tonight, or today depending on where you are, I’m gonna have to be real with you for a minute. Sometimes — a lot of times, really — blogging is hard.
My blog is nearing its one year anniversary, and with over 30 posts under my belt, I’ve learned a lot. I’m still learning. For example, I don’t have a post for today, but that’s ok.
Recently writing has taken a backseat in my life, and I feel like I should let some writers and bloggers know that it’s ok to take a break. It’s ok to lean back on your pillows and read a book, or simply listen to the sound of falling rain after a long day. Between finishing out the school year, focusing on spiritual life and friendships, plus a job, life can get busy. If you miss a day or a month of writing, don’t beat yourself up over it. You and your health matter more than staying up till 3 am trying to prepare a post or chapter. Now, don’t mix up business and laziness, but sometimes we mere mortals need rest. Now if you’re an immortal elf. . .
But in all seriousness, even God rested on the 7th day. He commands us to do the same because He knows we need rest.

Anyways, yeah. I don’t have a post for today.

But.

A beautiful post is in the works. It’s one that I think will help many, so stick around for that!

I’ll see y’all another day, friends. Maybe next week, or maybe just the week after that.

(Yes, I almost entirely forgot to post this today. Any other bloggers relate?)

2 responses to “A Note To Writers: It’s Ok”

  1. Thank you for the word of encouragement. It sounds like we’re in exactly the same place! I have a novel all plotted out, but I just haven’t started it yet… and I’m trying to be okay with that, because I have so much going on right now with school and family and everything. And you know what? You’re absolutely right. Instead of feeling guilty… I need to just embrace this place I’m in. Thank you so much! ❤

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I take breaks on the blog too (and writing sometimes takes a backseat), so I totally understand the need to step back. Thanks so much for this reminder, Grace! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started